M.Sc. Organic Chemistry

The department of chemistry was established in November 1977 with Synthetic Chemistry as specialization. The first special officer of this centre Prof. L.R. Row who is an internationally reputed organic chemist initiated the research activities in the department. Prof. L.R. Row was the key figure in teaching and research activities of the department in its initial stage.The first head of the department of chemistry Dr. M. Surya Narayana who put his maximum effort in developing the department, received maximum encouragement and guidance from Prof. L.R. Row. Subsequently the department was headed by Dr. U. Murali Krishna, Dr. R.Venkateswarlu, Dr. K. SomasekharaRao, Dr. P.AtchutaRamaiah and Dr. C. Rambabu who served the department for its development in academic and research activities.

In 1994 Andhra University PG Centre, Nuzvid merged with AcharyaNagarjuna University. During this period, department offeringAnalytical Chemistry as specialization with an intake of 36 students. Prof. C. Rambabu and Prof. K. SomasekharaRao served the head of department as well Special officer of this centre. Dr. D. Ramachandran, Dr. M.SubbaRao served the department as Assistant professors since 2006 to 2012.

From 2011, it is under the purview of Krishna University and named as Krishna UniversityDr MRAR PG Centre. Prof.  M. V. BasaveswaraRao served Special officer of this centre from 2012-2020. Presently, the department offering two specializations namely Analytical Chemistry (Regular course) and Organic Chemistry (Self finance course) with an intake of 36 students from each department. Several students of the department after getting the M.Sc, degree pursued their research activities not only in the department but also in other universities. Some of the students of this department got gold medals and they occupied several important positions in educational and research institutions like IIP Dehradun, NCL, Pune, IICT Hyderabad, LaurusPharma, Vishakapatnam and various reputed Pharmaceutical industries.